top of page

2019 Transport Heritage Grants announced

Recipients of the 2019 Transport Heritage Grants were announced at a special ceremony at the National Innovation Centre on Saturday 26 October.

The Transport Heritage Grants Program is a NSW Government funded program administered by the Royal Australian Historical Society (RAHS) and supported by THNSW. It aims to help the NSW community rediscover the culture, events and people that shaped transport over the past 160 years, as well as assist with the restoration and conservation of NSW’s valuable heritage assets.

Congratulations to the following organisations:

Goulburn Crookwell Heritage Railway

Replacement of painted timber boundary fence at Crookwell Station

Amount awarded: $3,080

New England Antique Machinery Club

Applying rubber to traction engine wheel.

Amount awarded: $6,160

Sydney Tramway Museum

Restoration to original Sydney R1 Class tram.

Amount awarded: $7,913

Zig Zag Railway

Restoration, painting and interpretation of signals at bottom points.

Amount awarded: $9,423

Restoration, painting and interpretation of signals at top points.

Amount awarded: $14,800

Sydney Bus Museum

Restoration of Albion 1921.

Amount awarded: $15,000

Robertson Heritage Railway Station

Repaint of Robertson Main Station Building.

Amount awarded: $15,000

The Rail Motor Society

Railmotor CPH1 ends repairs.

Amount awarded: $20,309.95

Illawarra Light Railway Museum

Perry Boiler Restoration.

Amount awarded: $38,421.82

Lachlan Valley Railway Society Co-op

Restoration of Rosie (Locomotive 5367).

Amount awarded: $50,000

Images of the grants ceremony and recipients below by Steve Burrows.


bottom of page